The world is occupied with all sorts of people, and whenever you're in business you'll come across all types of customers. Some are pleasing and a delight to do business with, but other people can be rather difficult and hard to deal with. If your business is entirely online, then handling challenging customers is a particular issue, because you're working from a distance and it can easily move into problems if your e-mails are misinterpreted.

I have been working online for the past five years and have discovered that many people are quite congenial and entertaining to work with. When I do come across the problem customer, here are a couple of things that I do to handle a challenging situation:

The customer is always right
Even though I recognize that the customer may be hotheaded and ready to blame me for an error that's not mine, I try to contain my emotions, and calmly answer every e-mail, supplying the information that the client demands. The distance of an e-mail is likely helpful in this example, because if I were face-to-face I may lose my temper or demonstrate my dissatisfaction, which would only make matters worse. So, if you get unreasonable complaints for service that are not in your contract, just unwind and try to deal with it as best as possible.

Read complaints carefully
If there’s a client who's displeased with you or your business, you can't afford to make any mistakes. Look into the complaint and be sure that you understand everything before replying. Although I say it's better to say that "the customer is always right" from the get go without even debating, in most cases the customer will as a matter of fact be right and it's critical to address the problem as best you can.

Preventive customer action